top of page
  • andrew74657

Family Vacation 2024

From our last day, visiting the flower trial gardens in Fort Collins


I can’t resist sharing a little bit about our recent family vacation, especially after being spoiled with the opportunity to see some incredibly beautiful places. The five of us were very grateful to have a week to sneak away from Fort Morgan and explore some of the neat areas not too far from home that we aren’t familiar with yet. No, not every minute was picture perfect. I will admit that we are still a semi-normal family and had our fair share of squabbles and challenges, including back pain for me after doing more bouldering than my 48-year-old body probably should have been doing (actually on my birthday!), but some of the highlights were pretty special.


Our first stop was at Pawnee Buttes, a fascinating spot only an hour from home…


Although we only spent a few hours in Cheyenne, we really liked what we saw. Wyoming is underrated! I’d driven through Wyoming numerous times, but it was fun to finally spend some time there.



One of our favorite hikes was in Medicine Bow-Routt National Forest, not too far west of Laramie, WY. Could it get any prettier? I could have sat and stared at South Gap Lake and the surrounding mountains for hours without ever growing tired of seeing them.



The next day was boulder climbing day. It was one of the most fun mornings I’ve ever had playing with all three kids. They were all over the boulders, and I was determined not to show any negative signs of aging.



Fast forward a few days to when we were in north-central Colorado at high elevation, already acclimated to the cooler, slightly damper conditions than what we’d been getting in Fort Morgan. We split up for Saturday morning hiking. I did a challenging hike to Snow Lake and Thunder Pass, again treated to some of the most amazing views I’ve ever seen at what seemed like my ideal playground. It didn’t even matter that I failed to spot any big mammals. It felt like an incredible workout and provided lots of opportunity to thank God for his great creation.



Now, back to school and work!

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page